UPDATED:


MANILA, Philippines — President Benigno S. Aquino III Monday issued Proclamation No. 265 declaring October 31, 2011, or the eve of All Saints’ Day, as a special non-working day throughout the country, presidential spokesman Edwin Lacierda said.


“To give full opportunity to our people to properly observe the day with all its religious fervor which invariably requires them to travel to and from different regions of the country, Monday, 31 October 2011, may be declared as a special (non-working) day without detriment to public interest,” the Proclamation read.
October 31 falls between Sunday (October 30) and November 1, a special non-working holiday.
Based on Proclamation No. 84, regular holidays include: New Year’s Day – January 1 (Saturday); Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (Saturday); Maundy Thursday – April 21; Good Friday – April 22; Labor Day – May 1 (Sunday); Independence Day – June 12 (Sunday); National Heroes Day – August 29 (Last Monday of August); Bonifacio Day – November 30 (Wednesday); Christmas Day – December 25 (Sunday); Rizal Day – December 30.
The special (non-working) days include: Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Sunday); All Saints’ Day – November 1 (Tuesday); Last Day of the Year – December 31 (Saturday); and Special Holiday (for all schools) – the EDSA Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (Friday). (Madel R. Sabater)
Source : Tempo


I guess most of the Pinoys are hoping October 31 which is Monday would be declared as holiday. But sad to share this news that even Oct 31 is between Sunday and November 1, Tuesday which is a special non-working holiday. October 31 not a holiday in the Philippines according to the Palace.

ABS-CBN reporter Willard Cheng tweeted that October 31, 2011, which falls on a Monday is not a holiday in the Philippines according to the Palace.

November 1, Tuesday is the special non-working holiday, MalacaƱang added. Sorry for those who were hoping for another long weekend. November 1 is All Saints’ Day while November 2 is All Souls’ Day. No announcement yet regarding November 2.

Guess no long weekend for this month of October. :(


Subscribe to Get the latest Update Via Email

Enter your email address:

Related Posts by Categories



1 comments

  1. Anonymous // October 8, 2011 at 11:20 AM  

    weeeh